• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

6 years of child support overpayment

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

gzbird101

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Montana

My son just turned 18 and graduated from school. I petitioned the court to stop child support and it was granted. I just found out through the clerk of court that I have been paying double child support since 2005. My "real" job has been paying and so has the military DFAS since I am in the guard.So instead of paying $316 I have been paying $632 a month and she hasn't reported it and has cashed the checks. From the printouts from the clerk of court, it is excess of $17,000. The clerk of court states it is not their problem. What can I do? Can I sue my ex to get it back and charge her with child support fraud and perjury since she claimed she "only got $316 a month" in my stop pay petition? On top of it she used to be a case worker for CSED so she can't claim ignorance! Do I sue the court for not catching it? Or, since the over pay is military, is it a military issue and I have to go through the military JAG to get my money back?

LdiJ