• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can Child Support Arrears Be Forgiven?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

confuseddad9254

I currently live in California, but child support case is filed in South Carolina. For years, I had been paying my child support of $400/mo out of court and directly to the mother. She was supposed to be reporting to the court that I was making my payments. However, upon filing my last tax return, I got a letter in the mail from the IRS saying my tax refund was taken, and placed towards the child support arrears that I owed. As far as I knew, I did not owe any because I had been paying her faithfully for about 10 years. So I then called the court where they told me I owe upwards of 60k in arrears. The mother, has apologized, and agreed to have all arrearages dropped with the agreement that I will continue to pay her the $400/month until my son is 18. My question is, because I believe she was recieving some state assistance, and I think medicare.....is it even possible for all the arrears to be forgiven? I've heard that the state will require to be paid back for that. And my second question is....what does the process of forgiving arrearages entail? Forms/court visits etc? She send me a written agreement in the mail to sign, stating the above...but it was not a formal court document, and I need to make sure the above agreement makes it to the court level, and my debts get cleared up!!!!What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

Humusluvr