• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can I be kicked out at 17 years old?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Miss_Fit

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

--To begin I apologize if this is located in the wrong place, I'm new to the site and was unsure of where this topic should have been placed --

I'm 17 years old, and I will be 18 in November this year. I graduated high school and am trying to find a job. Recently there have been some events which led to my father being so disappointed with me that he didn't want to see me anymore. He threw out everything that reminded him of me, and if you have yet to guess by now, my father has a very short temper. I've ran away from home twice, both out of fear that my father would hurt me physically (which I have talked to the police about, and they just left me at the home with him), and he had said if I were to leave again he wouldn't let me back in the house. I spent three days after that conversation in my bedroom alone, no human contact, no food, and little to drink. I was getting depressed and near committing suicide, and when I was woken up by my dad on the fourth day because he was angry I had slept in, he started going on another of his "rampages," and again, I left the house out of fear.
After talking to my mom she says she isn't sure if he has realized me being gone over the night, but she is terrified because she doesn't want to lose me.
If I do come home, and my dad did realize I was gone, can he legally kick me out of the house?
From what I've read, he's responsible for me until I'm 18, but my dad doesn't listen to reason and even if I tell him this then he won't listen to me.

BL