• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can I sue my dad?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

luvmysarcasm

Fullerton, ca

When my parents filed for divorce the paperwork states that my father must pay child support till I am dead, married, or emancipated. He stopped paying child support a little over a year ago when I graduated high school. Can I sue him or somehow make him resume payments? also I havn't spoken to him in 3 years and I would like to keep it that way as much as humanly possible.

nextwife

Fullerton, ca

When my parents filed for divorce the paperwork states that my father must pay child support till I am dead, married, or emancipated. He stopped paying child support a little over a year ago when I graduated high school. Can I sue him or somehow make him resume payments? also I havn't spoken to him in 3 years and I would like to keep it that way as much as humanly possible.
YOU cannot sue him.

Write, word for word, EXACTLY what the order says. And whether any, later, modifications were ordered and what those said.

Antigone*

Fullerton, ca

NO you cannot sue your dad. Your father was never obligated to pay YOU a dime. Your problem is solved, you have no reason to contact your dad:rolleyes:

Proserpina

Fullerton, ca

Would also be curious to see this order.

Very curious.

And where, incidentally, is Mom?

CourtClerk

When you graduated high school, and turned 18, you became emancipated.

Nevertheless, the money doesn't/didn't belong to you, therefore you have no claim to it.

nextwife