• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can My Account Be Frozen?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ddionne

I am a resident of Alabama. My fiance's ex-wife recently placed him on child support after 3 1/2 years of divorce, and elected to go for back child support as well. I have read of couples' joint bank accounts being frozen because of this, so I do not plan on us getting joint accounts. However, what I wanted to do was have him arrange with his bank to automatically have about 75% of his check automatically deposited into my account every pay period. (This is so I would not have to constantly remind him what bills were due and when). If in the future his account is frozen because of the back child support, is it possible that mine will be frozen also?

CSO286

I am a resident of Alabama. My fiance's ex-wife recently placed him on child support after 3 1/2 years of divorce, and elected to go for back child support as well. I have read of couples' joint bank accounts being frozen because of this, so I do not plan on us getting joint accounts. However, what I wanted to do was have him arrange with his bank to automatically have about 75% of his check automatically deposited into my account every pay period. (This is so I would not have to constantly remind him what bills were due and when). If in the future his account is frozen because of the back child support, is it possible that mine will be frozen also?
As long as his name is not on the account, your accounts will be safe from levy action.

Any accounts with his name on them are subject to levy for past due child support.

Isis1