• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can a person give up their rights and not pay child support?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

gijanemommy

What is the name of your state?Colorado
I have been paying child support for about 13 years now. When I lost my daughter to my aunt through her lies and manipulation of the judicial system, I was told that I still had parental rights and any major decisions had to be put to me first for my input. Since then, my aunt has moved around, told family members not to let me know where she was and never consulted me on anything. My daughter says that I deserted her and she hates me for it. Recently I have found out that my daughter is one of the most sexually active people in her town. She is out drinking and drugging on a daily basis and really has my aunt fooled. My daughter has told me to stay out of her life and she does not want any contact with me whatsoever. I have done my part by trying to find her on a constant basis and paid my child support. I am tired of being told that my daughter is like this because I am her mother. I want to know that if after all this time--- Can I give up the parental rights that were never really given to me and stop paying child support. I am really tired of not being able to get ahead because of having to pay child support for a daughter that I feel I have no chance of ever getting to know.