• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can Veteran's Disability Payments Be Used For Child Support

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

PCBilities

I am an unemployed Veteran. My entire disability check goes each month to pay my child support and leaves me no income. Is this legal and should I request a Review and Adjustment from the state of Ohio? Suppoert order originated in Florida.

BL

I am an unemployed Veteran. My entire disability check goes each month to pay my child support and leaves me no income. Is this legal and should I request a Review and Adjustment from the state of Ohio? Suppoert order originated in Florida.
TITLE 38 > PART IV > CHAPTER 53 > § 5301
§ 5301. Nonassignability and exempt status of benefits

If you receive VA benefits , go to your local VA Office and have a rep. sort this out .

If you indeed are exempt ,obtain a copy , and go to the child support enforcement office and get it stopped .

You could google the section and code and print it out ,or obtain a copy from your VA. rep.

You should also file for a modification through the court .

Be aware , any funds that are co-mingled into your account other that your benefits ,can be seized .

Make sure your VA benefits are in a separate account and only use that account for VA. benefits alone .

Locator: http://www2.va.gov/directory/guide/home.asp?isflash=1[/U]]Veterans Affairs National Facilities Locator - Locations

Gracie3787

Was the order transferred from FL to OH?

If not, you'll have to file for the modification in FL.
I don't know about OH's laws, but in FL disabilty payments can be used to determine CS.