• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Child support based on disabled veterans benefits and social security?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

tpnyce

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Virginia

I am being taken to court for child support for my son. I am a disabled veteran recieving benefits from the Veterans administration and social security and not able to work. The mother is recieving a check for 314 dollars for my son from social security as well as insurance and education benefits. She is asking for 1500 dollars a month on child support. We live in Virginia. Will she be able to receive that amount or less. Also can my benefits be used as a basis for child support?

mistoffolees

I am being taken to court for child support for my son. I am a disabled veteran recieving benefits from the Veterans administration and social security and not able to work. The mother is recieving a check for 314 dollars for my son from social security as well as insurance and education benefits. She is asking for 1500 dollars a month on child support. We live in Virginia. Will she be able to receive that amount or less. Also can my benefits be used as a basis for child support?
She can ask for whatever she wants. What she'll get is outlined here:
Child Support Obligation Calculator - Virginia Department of Social Services

What type of disability are you receiving? SSI or SSDI? That will make a difference.

LdiJ

All of your income can be used to calculate a child support amount. However, the money that the child receives from Social Security should also factor into the calculation.