• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Child Support Information Needed....

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Jake32

Hi i am 18 years old from California and i live with my parents and i am a dependent on them. I have a 1 year old son, my ex girlfriend and i have never married and she has threatened to file child support which she most likely will do. I have supported my son financially for the past year but do not have any receipts showing proof of this. Which means she could file for back child support? Also i am a freshman in college taking 16 units and i have a part time job that roughly pays about $250 a month. If she takes me to court does the judge have the power to order me to be employed full time? and do i have to be employed full time if my ex files child support. If the judge does order this then i would not be able to continue with school full time and would most likely have to quit. My ex has no monthly income and is a full dependent of her parents also. Doesnt this mean i have to pay the majority of what he needs? and if so how much would i have to pay? If anyone can help answer any of my questions, it would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance. bye.

stealth2

Under the Radar Member
She likely wouldn't get support back to birth, but would from the filing date. Quite likely, you'd be imputed an income of at least minimum wage for support purposes. She may also. Yes, you may have to either go to school part-time or quit to support your child, unless you can convince your parents to pay your support until you graduate. That is a consequence to having a child. Welcome to parenthood.

rmet4nzkx