• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Child support and unemployment

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

richard1972

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Washington

[I am posting this because my family desperately needs answers. My spouse had posted something similar for me earlier, but was ridiculed for posting for me, even though I am a war veteran (lost an arm and appreciated her help). I hope I can receive and give the same amount of respect to the users of this website...]

I have split custody of my two children with my Ex. One child lives with me, and the other lives with the other parent. I pay my Ex a sum of money every month, since I make a little more each month. My Ex was recently fired from the job and is now threatening me that more child support is needed, or taking me to court and getting more money will be the other option.

The child support has been worked out between us and NOT the courts. But I can assure you that I am paying MORE than what the courts would have had me pay. I paid what I thought was fair.... Now since my Ex lost the job, my Ex is threatening to go to court for an increase in child support if I do not pay more in child support now.

Does my Ex have a leg to stand on? Would the courts make me pay more than what I was paying when my Ex still had a job?

The child support is worked out in this way:

18% of Ex monthly salary: $375
18% of my monthly salary: $550

The difference = $150 ... I have been paying $225, even though by law I only need to pay $150; I felt the $225 was fair. But now since he is (fired) unemployed, will this new large difference between our incomes be my responsibility?

Last edited:

TinkerBelleLuvr