• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

College Student with Deadbeat Doctor Father

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

DaisyB23

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida.

I apologize in advance for the length of my post but my situation is unique and complicated so I'd like to explain as much as possible to get the most accurate answer. I appreciate any help you can provide :)

I graduated high school 2 months after my 17th birthday. I wanted to take a gap year after college, however my father threatened to disown me unless i went to college. During my semester i struggled with the transition of leaving my family, who lived hundreds of miles aways from me. Ultimately my grades weren't great. My second semester my grades improved but I still didn't have straight A's that Dad desired. My father paid for my first semester of college. Also he promised to give me money for living expenses. After my grades didnt improve to his standards my second semester in college, my father decided that he didnt want me to return to my university that i had grown to love. I tried to get financial aid but unfortunately because of my fathers income i wasnt able to recieve any.