• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

does this qualify as "post secondary Ed."

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Alex_Jones

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law) Indiana?

I am an Indiana resident and I have a son who graduated high school last spring, is 18 years old, and lives with his mother. He has a full time job, makes enough to support himself, but finds it financially beneficial to still live with his mother. This fall, he is enrolling in one and only one class at a local college. I asked him his rationale for this, and he says his mom suggested this to get his feet wet at going to college. My question is will this qualify as attending a post secondary school in order to prevent me from terminating child support?

AJ

Banned_Princess

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law) Indiana?

I am an Indiana resident and I have a son who graduated high school last spring, is 18 years old, and lives with his mother. He has a full time job, makes enough to support himself, but finds it financially beneficial to still live with his mother. This fall, he is enrolling in one and only one class at a local college. I asked him his rationale for this, and he says his mom suggested this to get his feet wet at going to college. My question is will this qualify as attending a post secondary school in order to prevent me from terminating child support?

AJ
usually kid has to be enrolled as a full time student. one class is far from even part time student.

what do your CS orders say word for word, so we can have some insight as to if you should file for termination or not.

Alex_Jones

Context of the order.