• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Ex is on Supplemental income and I dont recieve child support from them.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sweetbaby271

What is the name of your state? Texas

My ex works for the Railroad, and I have been recieving child support on a regular basis for 5 years until he became il in some way, not sure, and his doctor took away his license for 6 months. He isnt earning any wages now and is getting a supplemental income through the ritirement board. Why do I have to hire another attourney to have a seperate order for them to garnish his supp income when he is obligated to pay it whether he is making regular wages or not? Shouldnt they be able to use the divorce decree as proof that he is to pay it.. So that they can garnish it from his supp income? :mad:

BL

You do not make any sense , or you NEED to clarify what type of disability benefits He is receiving . In any event He would have to file a modification , or else arrears accrue .

weenor

sweetbaby271 said:
What is the name of your state? Texas

My ex works for the Railroad, and I have been recieving child support on a regular basis for 5 years until he became il in some way, not sure, and his doctor took away his license for 6 months. He isnt earning any wages now and is getting a supplemental income through the ritirement board.

Is long term disability or early retirement?

Why do I have to hire another attourney to have a seperate order for them to garnish his supp income when he is obligated to pay it whether he is making regular wages or not?