• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Florida Child Support Question

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

FlaDad352

Florida:

I have a divorce order that states I transfer my CS payments on the first of every month to my ex-wifes bank account. I have been meeting my obligation for over two years now flawlessly. She has now decided to apply for food stamps. I just received a "notice of proceeding to establish administrative support order" form the state. I called them and was informed that she did give them a copy of the divorce order and bank statements showing I had been paying. They informed me that because she is asking for assistance I may have to start paying through their system. I am more than meeting the needs of my children and don't want the state involved in it.

Is this legal?

How can a department of the state modify a judges order?

Silverplum

Florida:

I have a divorce order that states I transfer my CS payments on the first of every month to my ex-wifes bank account. I have been meeting my obligation for over two years now flawlessly. She has now decided to apply for food stamps. I just received a "notice of proceeding to establish administrative support order" form the state. I called them and was informed that she did give them a copy of the divorce order and bank statements showing I had been paying. They informed me that because she is asking for assistance I may have to start paying through their system. I am more than meeting the needs of my children and don't want the state involved in it.

Is this legal?

How can a department of the state modify a judges order?
Sure, it's legal.