• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

how far behind can you get??

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

LdiJ

Smarty Panties said:
JETX is an attorney so I'm pretty confident you can believe it.
Its not that I don't believe him. However if I can confirm it could make a difference in some things I am working on.

JETX

LdiJ said:
Are you sure about that? Where did you get that information? Can you link me there? I am an accountant and I would REALLY like to confirm that one way or another.
Yep. Look at the US Bankruptcy Code:
"Sec. 523. - Exceptions to discharge
(a) A discharge under section 727, 1141, 1228(a), 1228(b), or 1328(b) of this title does not discharge an individual debtor from any debt -
<snip>
(5) to a spouse, former spouse, or child of the debtor, for alimony to, maintenance for, or support of such spouse or child, in connection with a separation agreement, divorce decree or other order of a court of record, determination made in accordance with State or territorial law by a governmental unit, or property settlement agreement, but not to the extent that -
(A) such debt is assigned to another entity, voluntarily, by operation of law, or otherwise (other than debts assigned pursuant to section 408(a)(3) of the Social Security Act, or any such debt which has been assigned to the Federal Government or to a State or any political subdivision of such State); or
(B) such debt includes a liability designated as alimony, maintenance, or support, unless such liability is actually in the nature of alimony, maintenance, or support;"
Source: http://www4.law.cornell.edu/uscode/11/523.html

LdiJ

JETX said:
Yep. Look at the US Bankruptcy Code: