• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Jurisdiction of Child Support

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Randall Somer

California, Divorced in 1991 in California, child support was referred to Family Support Division for investigation and report to be completed within 180 days, however, this was never done; therefore, child support was not ordered. After not receiving any form of child support for almost 10 years, requested that the State of Nebraska assume jurisdiction. Nebraska is where my children and I had lived for the past 10 years. Nebraska assumed jurisdiction Jun 2000. Now, my youngest son, against my will has moved to California. While I have no knowledge of the law, the following California Family Code makes me suspect jurisdiction is in Nebraska because only one child support order has ever been issued. Is my assumption correct concerning child support?

California Family Code Section 4911.
(a) If a proceeding is brought under this chapter and only
one tribunal has issued a child support order, the order of that
tribunal controls and shall be so recognized.

(b) If a proceeding is brought under this chapter, and two or more
child support orders have been issued by tribunals of this state or
another state with regard to the same obligor and child, a tribunal
of this state shall apply the following rules in determining which
order to recognize for purposes of continuing, exclusive
jurisdiction:
(1) If only one of the tribunals would have continuing, exclusive
jurisdiction under this chapter, the order of that tribunal controls
and shall be so recognized.

(2) If more than one of the tribunals would have continuing,