• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

KY: How to end Child Support wage assignment?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Deverill

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Kentucky
I have been paying child support and am current. My divorce was final in 1997. My son turns 18 in a few months and will have already graduated high school by then. There is nothing in my decree that is different than the language I see in the KRS as far as I can tell but I am a layman. I see in Kentucky that wage assignments are required, which I didn't know when I entered a motion that was granted for the court to attach my wages so there would be no arguments with my ex. I thought it was simply a good idea and just now found out it is required.

My question is how do I stop the attachment? I suspect I will need a court order for my employer to stop taking out of my check (I live in Florida now) but I don't know if there is an agency that handles this kind of thing that I can contact or should I hire a family law attorney in Kentucky to do 'that end' of the process? My other question is how long does it usually take? I want to start early enough they don't take out beyond the required time. For what it's worth I do have his birth certificate which I understand will probably be necessary as well.

Thank you.

mistoffolees