• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Modification - procedural questions

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Veronica2000

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

Hi, I'm going to be requesting a modification to cs based on new incomes. Can't afford an atty so will be doing this myself. We have a 70 (me)/30 split. I have been receiving cs for 10 years. In the meantime dad's income has increased substantially and mine has inreased slightly. I ran the numbers on a simplified cs calculator and it looks like he should be paying 600 more a month.

Questions:
-If I file and serve him soon will that be the effective date of change in CS? Or will it be the date the order is finally issued? I know he will use delaying tactics such as avoiding service; requesting extensions of time as he has done so in the past.

-He pays far lower taxes than his income suggests (I'm not sure how he does it but he pays 15% on a 250k married filing jointily). Because of this the numbers he can enter into the dissomaster are not reflective of his true net income. Should I submit a supporting declaration with my motion with all those details or does it look complainy?

-I now live out of state. I understand I can appear at a hearing telephonically but does this give me a disadvantage?

Thanks!

Veronica2000

forgot one thing