• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

No court appointed support yet

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

rapunzel30

What is the name of your state?FL

I am new at this and just waying my options on whether to file for child support for my son. Although at this point I know that I need to start cs to ensure my 5 years old future. I am in a different situation, as I make good money and can clearly take care of my son without ex's help. The past 5 years I have supported my son without his dad's financial help. We made a verbal agreement that half my sons daycare would be paid by him. Well after 5 years he has only made a few payments to the daycare. I pay about $4500 every year. I never really pushed the issue because he has a good relationship with my son and picks him up from school when work demands that I stay after hours. The other reason I never really pushed for the daycare payments, is he claims that he is strapped for cash, he went into some financial venture and it obviously is loosing money. Well, my question is, should I file for child support now, when I maybe making more money than him. I believe he has lots of expenses and this may effect what I may get in terms of support. He renegated on our verbal agreement that we split the daycare costs, and stated that I don't need any financial support. All I wanted from this man was that half the daycare be paid. Now I feel that I have no choice but to use the courts. My other question is, what about assets. He has numerous properties (about 4 homes that I know of and a shopping strip mall) and the strip mall is in some kind of litigation, which means it is loosing money. Are these assets considered income? What if aft