• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Over 18 can I still collect support?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

SweetEmotion00

What is the name of your state? VA
I recently turned 22 years old and have found my father who lives in CA. He has never paid child support and claims he is not the father, but he has had knowledge that I existed. I am a full time college student, am I or my mother able to sue him for past owed support or anything? Anyones help is greatly appreciated.

stealth2

Under the Radar Member
You can't sue him for child support. Your mother can possibly go after him (not sure on the statute of limitations) IF there was a valid court order for support. If there was not? She's SOL.

nextwife

If there was never a legal paternity establishment and a Court order for support, there is no "past owed support". Support is from filing forward.

DOS2005

To Sweetemotion00

SweetEmotion00 said:
What is the name of your state? VA
I recently turned 22 years old and have found my father who lives in CA. He has never paid child support and claims he is not the father, but he has had knowledge that I existed. I am a full time college student, am I or my mother able to sue him for past owed support or anything? Anyones help is greatly appreciated.
:confused: