• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

overpaid child support PLEASE HELP

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

JERRYLBOLES

Arizona, I am an Apartment Manager and we just went through a changing of owners on the fitst. I'm on salary and get paid bi monthly. Child support is taken out twice a month. My previous employer verbally agreed to give me 3 months severants pay at the end of the sale. The company does payroll through a payroll co. They made up 7 checks for the last pay period of December and 3 months of takehome salary. What they also did was takeout 7 child support payments as well. when they were only supposed to takeout 1 final payment for December. So basically my ex will get 3 extra months of child support for this month. Having spent the last 2 days of them telling me it was the law to takeout from each payroll check and failing to realize that once the total of support obligation was met. That is no longer true, and they should have only paid the necessary total for the current month, as my new employer was doing what she thought was right by paying the first installment of child support for this month. Instead of admitting they made a huge mistake and stop the electronic process from proceeding to the support center, where once it is in their system it is a done deal. They made numerous attempts to cover their ass by not returning my calls or when I got through to them they told me I have to try to stop it myself. Am I just SOL or is the payroll company obligated to pay me for their stupidity.
Thanks in advance for any help,
signed FRUSTRATED

JETX

JERRYLBOLES said:
Am I just SOL or is the payroll company obligated to pay me for their stupidity.