• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Overtime and Child Support

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Confusednlost

What is the name of your state? CA

Hi everyone. Although im a newb on this forum, i am very well versed with the whole posting etiquette. So before i get flamed, i did a search already on this topic but couldnt find the exact answer to my question.

I know according CA law that overtime does count, BUTi was informed that it only counts if the overtime is consistant where it can almost be viewed as base pay. Is this true? I mean, it does make sense. For example, if you get sporatic overtime may one or two days a month, sometimes 8 days a month; why should it count when even you dont even know when you are going to get overtime?? Please advise. Thanks in advance.

casa

What is the name of your state? CA

Hi everyone. Although im a newb on this forum, i am very well versed with the whole posting etiquette. So before i get flamed, i did a search already on this topic but couldnt find the exact answer to my question.

I know according CA law that overtime does count, BUTi was informed that it only counts if the overtime is consistant where it can almost be viewed as base pay. Is this true? I mean, it does make sense. For example, if you get sporatic overtime may one or two days a month, sometimes 8 days a month; why should it count when even you dont even know when you are going to get overtime?? Please advise. Thanks in advance.
Unless you CONSISTENTLY receive overtime, in a pattern/average monthly amount...then No, it shouldn't be included.