• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

short term disability affects on child support obligation

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ssbauer

What is the name of your state? la

I am new at this, my ex is having back surgery and will be on short term disability for 3 months, how can this affect his child support obligation?

ssbauer

He told me that he can pay me a little less than 1/2 of what he is paying me now, and he consulted with an attorney and if I do not accept this then, they can base it off of his std income or it can be suspended for 6 months. Does any of this sound correct, what are my children's rights with the money their dad pays to support them?

GrowUp!

ssbauer said:
He told me that he can pay me a little less than 1/2 of what he is paying me now, and he consulted with an attorney and if I do not accept this then, they can base it off of his std income or it can be suspended for 6 months. Does any of this sound correct, what are my children's rights with the money their dad pays to support them?
This has nothing to do with a "child's right." :rolleyes: If he's on disability, whether short-term or not, where do you think he's going to get the money if he's not working to his full capacity? Also, it's not an issue of "if you accept it" either. If him or his attorney files for a modification, it could be suspended for six months or the amount of support order could be modified downward. Several factors come into play and it would be impossible for anyone to tell you exactly what will happen. How about showing some compassion instead of selfishness.
:rolleyes:

nextwife

GrowUp! said: