• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

signing off on arrears

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

whmiller13

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I currently live in Arizona, but my ex and children live in California.

the support order is in californa.

I owe arrears, quite a bit.. My ex and I are on good terms and both know that the arrears will never be paid off.

He has offered to sign off on them, saying that I don't owe them. I of course will continue to pay my current order, which I have been paying religiously for several years now.

Is that even a possibility? Can he do that?

Thank you for your help!

latigo

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I currently live in Arizona, but my ex and children live in California.

the support order is in californa.

I owe arrears, quite a bit.. My ex and I are on good terms and both know that the arrears will never be paid off.

He has offered to sign off on them, saying that I don't owe them. I of course will continue to pay my current order, which I have been paying religiously for several years now.

Is that even a possibility? Can he do that?

Thank you for your help!
What means "sign off on them"?

Do you mean to say that the father has offered to waive and forego any future attempts to collect the arrearages?

If so, what would be the consideration binding him to such a waiver? That is if he should ignore it and subsequently apply for a money judgment covering the indebtedness and/or seek to have you cited as being in contempt of the court's order, what argument could you make to the court supporting the agreement?