• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

spouse income

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ranyone

What is the name of your state? California

Here's my question: I have been paying my ex wife child support for about 5 years now, based on the dissomaster numbers that we agreed on when we were officially divorced. Since then, she has remarried and has chosen not to go back to work. (she wasn't working when we made the original calculations) She married a man who makes a lot more money than me, and so I am stuck paying her $250 a month, while I live in a tiny 1 bedroom apartment and they live in a 4,000 sq. ft home with all that they want, travelling all the time and spending money like crazy. I have always been told that the spouses income cannot be considered when child support is arranged, and in theory I agree. I want to support my daughter in every way possible, but with our situation...where she lives with me 50% and her mom 50% of the time, how can this situation be right??

here's another twist....I will be getting married this summer, so even if my ex's spouse is considered, wouldn't we then have to consider my wife's income after we are married as well?

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

ranyone said: