• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Who's looking out for my kids?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

"just 10"

What is the name of your state? AL
This is my first time on anything like this, parden my ignorance. I have 7 children, 5 are by a man whom I am not married to but do reside with. He has 3 children from a prev. marriage. She (the ex) is taking him bak to court for more child support. We went Thurs. and they want him to pay out nearly $900 dollars for those 3 leaving only 1400 for us. The question I have is do my children have any rights? He has never been behind in his support of 11 years. She claims she doesn't want any of my kids to go hungry but is unwilling to take any less. Legally, I need to know where I stand and how do I protect my kids? Believe me she's pointed out enough times hers were here first, but mine are here now too, do we just erase that fact?

GrowUp!

just 10 said:
This is my first time on anything like this, parden my ignorance. I have 7 children, 5 are by a man whom I am not married to but do reside with. He has 3 children from a prev. marriage. She (the ex) is taking him bak to court for more child support. We went Thurs. and they want him to pay out nearly $900 dollars for those 3 leaving only 1400 for us. The question I have is do my children have any rights? He has never been behind in his support of 11 years. She claims she doesn't want any of my kids to go hungry but is unwilling to take any less. Legally, I need to know where I stand and how do I protect my kids? Believe me she's pointed out enough times hers were here first, but mine are here now too, do we just erase that fact?