• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Why would state take child support

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Bradley589

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? WV

My ex and I have a four year old daughter. I have been paying child support since she was 2 years old when I found out I had a daughter. I just recently got married and have another daughter. My child support amount was based on my ex not working but for the last year she has a part time job. She gets child care assistance, housing assistance, food stamps, wic etc. My wages are garnished for child support. Recently my ex asked me to give her more money (cash) because she said she can't afford food for our daughter. She said she no longer gets housing assistance because she is working (she may make $9 hr and she's stating she has to pay $700 a month for HUD housing) and she said the state is taking the entire amount of child support that is garnished and keeping it instead of giving it to her. Why would they do this? To repay benefits she received? They would take the entire check at once? When our daughter is with me she tells me mommy has no money and wants things like juice and says mommy can't buy her anything. Ex is telling me she only gets $20 in food stamps a month. Do they even award someone that low of an amount? I know by WIC income guidelines she qualifies for that. I already pay over $600 a month (make about $13 hr) and while I want my daughter to eat, I feel that my ex's bad choices are causing the problem. So I bought some milk and choice and some healthy snacks that my daughter will eat and sent them home with her (I only see her on weekends). My ex flipped out and told me I will NOT be se