• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Agonizing in Ohio - Crossover Civil, Real-Estate, Estate Planning, Elderly Law...

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

luvudad2010

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Ohio

Hello I'm new to this. Thank you in advance for taking the time to read my message.

I live in Ohio and I’m the youngest of 5 and I’m the POA. I have 4 older brothers with 3 of them being married and all living in Ohio as well. I live the furthest away, about 2 hrs, while my 4 brothers are all within 25 min. from my parent’s home. I’m dealing with a complex situation that involves my oldest brother creating turmoil and grief for our entire family and impeding with what is most important, proper care for my elderly father (88 yrs old) who wants to sell his home so he can afford to go into a facility that would best suit his needs.

My oldest brother (currently 56 yrs. old) got divorced moved back into our parent’s home when he was approx 32 yrs old. Then 14 yrs later he moved out of my parent’s home to live with his girlfriend in a house he recently purchased. After a year or two, they broke up and my oldest brother found it easier just to live with Mom & Dad again. He kept the house he purchased and it was really convenient since his new home is less than a mile from our parent’s house. It’s fair to say he’s been living at our parent’s home now for 24 years...RENT FREE. And this is to my parent’s dismay since my brother owns 4 rental homes and a warehouse and is extremely lazy, selfish, and has issues with hoarding.