• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Appeal a dismissal or start the case de novo

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

RonNYC

In California: I am trying to help an incarcerated friend of mine with a case. The case was dismissed on March 29. Due to mail delays etc., I am running out time, I think, to write an appeal and get it to him. I believe in California civil court the parties have 60 days to file an appeal. That will run out in a week. So my question is: since the dismissal was without prejudice (if that even applies) would it be better to start the case over again, or try to file the appeal. The case stems from a physical attack in December 2011.

I am a paralegal but am in New York.

Ron

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
In California: I am trying to help an incarcerated friend of mine with a case. The case was dismissed on March 29. Due to mail delays etc., I am running out time, I think, to write an appeal and get it to him. I believe in California civil court the parties have 60 days to file an appeal. That will run out in a week. So my question is: since the dismissal was without prejudice (if that even applies) would it be better to start the case over again, or try to file the appeal. The case stems from a physical attack in December 2011.

Ron
As an attorney licensed to practice in CA, you should know the answer to these questions.

Oh, you're not an attorney? Then, as a paralegal, you should at least have a moderate understanding that what you are doing is likely UPL.

Zigner

Of course, in your other thread on the same matter, you were already TOLD that your friend needs an attorney: