• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Banned from a club

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jdawg83

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? AZ

I am a stand up comedian who has worked multiple clubs in multiple states in the 7 years that I have been doing stand up comedy. Being a stand up comedian, I am an independent contractor. As an Independent Contractor I have the right to work for whomever I want whenever I want. I did a show In Phoenix, AZ this past Saturday, then on my way to another city a comedian called me because she had a fall out and wanted me to feature for her, so I stopped and did another gig in Oro Valley, AZ. Tonight I arrived at another club and was banned from the club, not because of anything I did to the club or anything detrimental to the club, but because the comedian that called me to do the show in Oro Valley was banned from that club, and because I "worked" for her I am no longer allowed to work there.

My question is doesn't that infringe on my freedom of association and furthermore my right as an independent contractor to work for whom ever I want to. My opinion is that if they don't have the right to dictate who I work for as long as I do nothing to infringe on them. Furthermore I did not advertise in media or in their club that I was doing that show, they just banned me from being able to work there because I worked for another banned comedian.

enjay