• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Being sued by a friend for damaging his ATR

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

watcsingh

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?
Washington

A friend of 20 years was in town to attend a wedding reception and wanted to park their camper in our drive way. They offered to take me and my kids 4 wheeling on their ATV. I specifically asked how safe it was and that I have never done something like this before. They never disclosed that their ATV did not have insurance nor did they say that they are not required to have insurance (I found out afterwards that they are not required to have insurance).
During the outing, my son, 16 went for a ride and hit a bump that caused him to roll the ATV - nobody saw what happened as this is a 1600 acre public land and no one else was there. When I came upon the spot on another ATV, his ATV was parked to the side of the road and had a flat tire, likely due to hitting the bump. I waited for the friend to show up and we STARTED and towed the ATV with the flat tire to his truck. After this, the friend said we can stay and ride the other ATV which we did for another hour or so.
Next day, Sunday, the friend left and drove home 200 miles away. On Tuesday, he called me saying he had taken the ATV in to the dealer to assess the damage and it was $4200. He wants me to "fix the ATV to the condition it was in."