• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

California Community College Help

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

rnirnber

I'm a student at a California community college (public school). I'm applying for financial aid, and was asked to submit a form. On the form I checked that my income for 2014 was $0 and was not obligated to file taxes. When I turned it in, they asked me to file another form explaining how I support myself, and to account for all sources of money from family, friends, even if given on an informal and/or irregular basis. Apparently, they do this for everyone. For those who did file taxes in 2014, they're asking students to list each of their employers and put a dollar amount for the annual income that they received from each employer. They also say that not having documentation for unofficial income will be viewed with skepticism when the "board" reviews these cases.

Beyond asking for a copy of a student's tax return, and beyond asking a student to sign an affadavit affirming he or she did not illegaly fail to file a tax return when required, how exactly is the school able to do this without getting into legal trouble? Also, the "board" decisions are final and there's no appeal process, yet they don't publish the criteria they use to deny or reject these later parts of a student's finacial aid application. Whether legal or illegal, this certainly seems arbitrary and capricious and I'd imagine a lawyer could have a lot of fun taking this school to court. I've been to several other colleges, and none of them asked me for such personal types of information.