• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

can S Corp be sued?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

glengrey

What is the name of your state?undefinedWhat is the name of your state? AZ I have an S Corporation, myself president, my wife Vice President. It is set up for tax purposes, but it also runs my business. The property in a shopping center is leased by a large corporation, I am an agent for that Corporation. I pay them a very small amount of yearly rent. According to my contract with them I am responsilble for anything inside the (store) and the sidewalk out front. A person said she slipped on soapy water and broke her leg (in the parking lot) as she was approaching the (store). I was mopping the floor but not with soap. It had rained the day before and the parkinlg lot was still wet. She hired a lawyer and he in turn wrote the major corporation stating that they would contact them with a settlement offer. The major Corp in turn sent it to me and said I was liable. Question, do you think I am liable? Is the landlord (property owner) liable, or is the Major corp liable. If it comes down to me or my corp being sued, can she do it. The S corp consists of 12 stocks of $100 each, there are no assets except small checking account.???

Last edited:

Alias_joe

S or not anyone can be sued. A corporation is nothing more than a legal fiction. She will probably sue you as the agent.

Rained? Can you prove it?
Get a weather report
Affirmative defense- act of God

Not used soapy water?
Can you prove it?
Affirmative defense- clear water because - - - - - - - - -

Make them prove soapy water if that is part of their complaint.

Settle?
Sure, call your insurance agent.

No insurance?