• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Dress Code or Civil Right

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

mosesco

I am college student currently attending UW-Stout majoring in retail business and management. I am a freshman which makes me 19. Well, my question is about this night club that I go to. They have a strict dress code, yet I think it may be strict ONLY when a person of color like my self walk up to the door. Last week I went to the club and the bouncer asked me to lift my shirt, when I did so he told me my pants were too loose at the waste. Luckily I knew they had a strict dress code and I brought another pair. So when I get back to the line I am by myself behind a group of Caucasian kids every kid walked in without having to lift his shirt. This is where my question comes in. If I could prove that this dance club was using their "dress code" to racially discriminate could I sue them, and if so how would I go about doing this and proving that this is going on.

If any one could give me any feedback it would be very much appreciated.

Sincerely, Rico

V

Vincent Cosent

It still goes on!

Are there any other persons of color attending this club?
If so what do they say?
Strength in numbers.
Any witnesses in line that will back your claim?
Contact the NAACP or a civil rights attorney.
How about the school law dept if there is one.
Im a white colored person and apologize for the ignorance of other whites if this is the situation.Sorry!

JETX

Was this a 'one time' occurrence, or does it happen all the time??