• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Establishing FL residency for divorce

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

albania406

I am wondering if I can still establish FL residency for purposes of filing for divorce in FL. I was raised in FL. I lived there for 18 years. I have a valid drivers license with a FL address. I am registered to vote in FL, though using an absentee ballot because I went to undergraduate and law school out of state and I currently work out of state. My Last Will and Testament indicates that I am a FL resident. I went to undergrad, immediately after went to law school, and immediately after that joined the military. I've essentially been able to keep my FL drivers license because I was a student the whole time after I left and then joined the Army. I am licensed to practice law in the state of MD, but I practice as a Judge Advocate with the Army in NC. FL courts require residency for 6 months prior to filing. Although the the forms say a license is sufficient to prove this, I have not lived in FL for almost 10 years. My husband knows this and could contest that fact if he wants to be difficult. Can I adequately establish FL residency given the facts above? FL family law attorneys, help a colleague out! Thank you.

LdiJ