• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Family loan\investment

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sketty55

Hi there. I am a resident of Canada. I have a civil litigation issue that occurred in Long Island, NY. Approximately four years ago, my wife and I agreed to proceed with two separate investments with my wife's uncle, who is located in Long Island. The first was a loan of approx. $60,000US which was to be repaid in full plus 10% interest, at the end of one calendar year. To date we have only received $35,000US. We do not have a written contract, but we do have the wire transfer receipt. The wire was sent to his daughter. At this time, we would like our original monies invested returned to us (if we cannot secure the 10% interest, or any additional profit).

The second investment was a wire transfer to secure a bank note for a property in Florida from a colleague that my wife's uncle works with. The total amount was $70,000US. All monies were wired to this colleague in NY. We were provided with a deed to the home, which we later uncovered was never registered with the county, and was not a legal document. We have also requested that all monies be returned in addition to any profit that would equal the value of the property. Approximately $120kUS. At this time, we are requesting that all original monies invested be returned, if the profit cannot be secured).

We are desperate to get our money back and appreciate any legal advice. Thanks!

Proserpina