• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

I was threatened with legal action on Facebook

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Draco77

I'm an artist in Big Spring, Texas, who has recently experienced not only demands to remove completely innocuous commemorative artwork from my personal Facebook page, but a threat of legal action if I refuse to comply. They claim the commemorative artwork is degrading & hurtful to them & their deceased relative, whom I was acquainted with. There is nothing degrading about the art & I have explained why the individual in the artwork is portrayed, & they have not acknowledged it. They are making self righteous demands under the guise of a request for sensitivity. I have told them repeatedly that I will not tolerate attempted policing of my personal page & that they are free to hide, unfollow, or ignore & scroll, but they refuse to pay it any mind.

The people in question are an entire family, or most of them & I have already had to block four of them. I reported one of them & saved as many messages & comments as I could, but a few of them were unfortunately lost, one because I blocked them prior to saving the comment, not knowing the comment would no longer appear on my end after blocking, if the comment was on someone else's page, & the other was a response to a post in a group, so once things escalated, the moderators removed the entire post. I was away as this happened. This may also tie into this taking place in a more socially conservative town, where artists must walk on eggshells ideologically, & face lack of opportunity, partially to do with that. I'm wondering what I should do to solve this?

justalayman