• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Mechanics Lien

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

bartstop

I am an Electrical Contractor in the state of Kansas. I got a service request from an individual, apparently his house was hit by lightning. I did some troubleshooting and a small repair. While I was working, this individual told me that he was doing a "rent to own" on the property and that his landlord, who is also his employer (very important), told him to find an electrician. He (the tenant) requested that I send him the bill and he would forward it to his employer for payment. After several weeks and several broken promises he (the tenant) has refused to pay claiming he is under bankruptcy protection (filed chapter 13 months before the service call). We called the landlord and he refuses to pay. So, we sent a bill along with a letter warning that we will pursue a mechanics lien if we don't receive payment. He (the landlord) responded with a letter claiming he isn't responsible because he did not order the work to be done.

From what I have been reading about Respondeat Superior, the landlord/employer can be held responsible for what his agent does. It was the employers rental property, he benefited from my services, his employee told me that the employer would be responsible for the payment and it was during regular business hours. I should also add they are in the residential construction business. I believe they built the property (duplex).

Do I have a leg to stand on here? It's not a large sum of money but I feel like they hired me and never had any intention of paying.

Bartstop

latigo