• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

MVA imposed probation without hearing

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

dayron

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? Maryland

Hi, this is my first time posting here so...

In May of 2000 I had an accident that subsequently resulted in my 2nd DWI. I was charged and convicted in 2001. I was found guilty based on a plea agreement in which we challenged the chain of custody of the blood sample taken at shock trauma. I went to a 6 week alcohol treatment program in 2001 and did community service. I successfully completed one year probation.

In 2002, I went before the MVA administrative law judge to determine my driving privileges. I was suspended for 3 months and refered to the Medical Advisory Board at the MVA. At the time I did not understand the implications of this.

Fastforward to Oct 2004. The Medical Advisory Board of the MVA has determined that I neeed 2 more years of probation, 26 week alcohol treatment, and 2 AA meetings a week for the probationary period. Mind you, I have been stone sober since May 2000!!

I fought the MVA on the AA requirements as I am an atheist and it violates my 1st Amendment rights. They agreed but did not provide me with an equilavent, non-theistic program.

I requested a hearing but was told that I am not entitled to one because the MVA is not suspending my license unless I violate the probation (CATCH-22). Then I am entitled to a hearing.