• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Opposing parties attorney does not serve copies of pleadings to other parties

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rexlan

I have filed a civil contract case in Georgia against 2 parties. I Live in Virginia about 300 miles away from the Georgia court. I am a pro se litigant; however, I have a coach. Cost is an issue so I have chosen to represent myself. I am educated and I am not a crack pot.

Problem and Question: I properly filed my action in Georgia Superior Court. The Clerk neglected to advise me of "special" requirements for pro se litigants and my documents were returned. I signed their "special" form and returned the documents for filing. They were filed and the parties have been served. Proof of service has been entered.

At the expiration of the 30 day period I telephoned the Clerk and was advised that an answer had been filed and that a motion to dismiss with a Rule Nisi had been filed. I think the Rule nisi is a notice of hearing that I will have to physically attend.

I have not received any correspondence or documents from the defendants attorney. I believe the rules state that all parties are to receive copies of all filings. It is well beyond the time allowed for mailing. I have asked the clerk for additional information; however, they have declined stating that they are not allowed to say anything.

I also asked for copies from the clerk and they have refused. They advised me that I must identify, in writing, what documents I wish and pay for them. Since I do not know what has been filed I can not identify or caculate the cost to obtain them.

How can I notify the court of this?