• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

slander or defamation of character??? in the workplace

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

S

scoobs1975

What is the name of your state?

I live in massachusetts, while working in a general hospital and having a spotless employee record, i attempted to give my resignation of my overstressed and underpaid/underappreciated nursing job. I am a registered nurse. I attempted to resign and initially my bosses first accepted my resignation and then came back to me a week later and stated that i would need to "sign this" stating that I was TERMINATING my position at the hospital. This is not what I intended to do. In my letter of resignation I elected to stay on board as a Per Diem member, meaning I could help out with staffing shortages but not have set schedule. I was informed that it was a "manager's discretion" whether or not I was allowed to be perdiem. My boss said that I was an asset and didn't want me to leave my position, but I explained that I was way too stressed and unhappy. They suggested going to another department or trying a different shift, (so this tells me that they still wanted me). I did have another job lined up but it was an agency that I can pick or chose my hours every week basically not a set schedule and no commitment to a certain number of hours per week. I told my boss that I was doing this and I still wanted to work two days a week at my general hospital job, and two days a week agency. When Management heard this, is when they had me sign those papers. My boss also laughed at me and stated that I would be back and if I wanted to come back that I wasn't leaving on bad terms and I would be welcome. I doubt i can pr