• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Urgent Help-Seeking

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

hjy0008

Utah

Urgent Help-Seeking

To whom it may concern,

I was a student who was wrongly terminated from a Ph.D. program at the University of Utah in 1999. My due process right was deprived of when I was suddenly terminated from the program because the department did not inform me of the coming termiantion and my right to appeal (Also, the termination was made by the Department Graduate Commettee which had no authority to do this according to the Universitity Code. The University Code clearly states that only the PhD student's supervisory comittee can decide the student's study in the program).

From 2000 I started to appeal within the University after my help with the family distress (my mother passed away in 1999). By 2002 March, all the four levels of the University appellate reviewers denied my appeals. Like the department, none of them presented university code or facts to indicate the so-called my "insufficiant progress" (Actually I had passed all the PhD qualified exams and my GPA is 3.75--the full score is 4.0. I also won the graduate fellowship award and taught two courses independantly in the department. The record shows that I was an excellant student).

Then in August 2002, I started my pro se lawsuit against the University of Utah. On Dec. 2002, the Salt Lake County Third District Court dismissed my lawsuit without predudice nor analysis, simply indicating the dismissal is due to my untimely notice of claim and the unavailability of judicial reviews to academic decisions.