• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

HIPAA Violations - Quit Job - Denied Unemployment

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ssrolle

I am a Software Engineer and have been dealing with the loss of my job for some time and my gut is telling me something is not right about this. I'm not sure how to deal with my situation so any advice would be appreciated.

I was employed by Robert Half Technology temp-to-hire position with a Reference Laboratory. During my time there starting from March10th 2008, I had discovered many technical security related issues which compromised patient data in many documented situations. I.e. patient data stolen. I notified my direct supervisor and was basically told to "go sit down and color" he eventually told me to stop working on the assignment he gave me. Needless to say the IT department was extremely stressed due to these discoveries; which I might mention were never reported to the authorities, even though HIPAA regulations state otherwise. There were many other violations but I won't get into that since it is not the point of my post.