• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Is it legal to video someone without their knowledge?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

OSI

What is the name of your state? Oregon

This is my first time in the forum and I have no clue where this question should be posted. Anyway, here is my situation:

I dated this guy for a few month (like 9 months ago), then we broke up on bad terms. Now I come to find out he's been showing people (guys) videos and pictures of me/us from while we were together. I had NO idea he was ever videotaping anything. He must have hidden a camera somewhere without me knowing. Now he is using it as bribery against me. Telling me he'll show so-and-so if I don't do specific things.
Is this legal??

Please Help!!

OSI

BelizeBreeze said:
First answer one question. Did these tappings occur at your residence or his?
His house, as far as I know. I haven't seen the videos/pics though. So hard to tell.

BelizeBreeze

OSI said:
His house, as far as I know. I haven't seen the videos/pics though. So hard to tell.
If the tapping occurred at his home, and even though Oregon has no 'expectation of privacy' requirement in the statute, Oregon law makes an exception to such prohibitions found otherwise in the statute:
A person may obtain a telecommunication or radio communication without consent, or a conversation without informing the participants, in his own home.

OSI

BelizeBreeze said:
If the tapping occurred at his home, and even though Oregon has no 'expectation of privacy' requirement in the statute, Oregon law makes an exception to such prohibitions found otherwise in the statute: