• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

obtaining mental health records

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

analogmonster

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I am a resident of California. I wish to obtain copies of my own mental health records from another state. Specifically Utah.I wish to have them sent directly to me. Their release is a requisite by the FAA. What is the extent of my rights at the federal and state levels?

*the records are from over 10 years ago
* I was a minor under treatment
*the facility receives at least some government funding (does that matter?)

CdwJava

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I am a resident of California. I wish to obtain copies of my own mental health records from another state. Specifically Utah.I wish to have them sent directly to me. Their release is a requisite by the FAA. What is the extent of my rights at the federal and state levels?

*the records are from over 10 years ago
* I was a minor under treatment
*the facility receives at least some government funding (does that matter?)
Call the facility and ask what they would need from you in order to release your records to you.

ecmst12

I believe 10 years is the maximum time that they are REQUIRED to maintain the records, so it's possible that they don't have them anymore. And for mental health records, if the person who treated you feels it would be detrimental to your mental health for you to see their actual notes, they don't have to release those notes to you. They would only be required to release basic information like dates of treatment and diagnosis and procedure codes.

analogmonster