• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

VA Patient Rights Violation.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Thomas.P

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I am a Marine Corps veteran. I recently went into the West LA VA Medical center for emergency treatment of a pre-existing liver ailment. A psychologist made the decision to put me on a 72-hour hold allegedly due to my mental history as contained in my file. They then put me on a 14-day hold involuntarily without justification beyond my file's history, principally because it was a holiday weekend and regular, competent staff was not available. I was placed in a prison-like setting with inmates who were, frankly, frightening. I was left fearing for my life. When the regular staff returned, I was suddenly, and without explanation, released, without EVER having being provided any sort of psychological care or evaluation. I was held against my will not with cause, but because it was a holiday. One's civil rights DO NOT go on holiday, ever. I was tormented and have suffered irreparable damage forcing me to delay the pursuit of my life's dream: studying physics at University of California Santa Barbara. I was forced to drop out of college, and my disability now renders me unable to take care of myself financially.