• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Warranty of Performance - client refuses to pay - urgent!!!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

vik3001

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NJ

I am an IT consultant and have an S-corp with myself as the only employee. I am starting a project for a client. Client has agreed to pay me NET 30 days. I invoice monthly. What happens if the client refuses to pay at any point, citing any reason (performance or otherwise)? Does Professional
liability (E&O) insurance cover what client refuses to pay?

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NJ

I am an IT consultant and have an S-corp with myself as the only employee. I am starting a project for a client. Client has agreed to pay me NET 30 days. I invoice monthly. What happens if the client refuses to pay at any point, citing any reason (performance or otherwise)? Does Professional
liability (E&O) insurance cover what client refuses to pay?
If he doesn't pay, you sue.

vik3001

re:

thanks! will my Professional
liability (E&O) insurance cover what amount client refused to pay? say if the client owes me 2K, will E&O cover it?

Mass_Shyster

thanks! will my Professional
liability (E&O) insurance cover what amount client refused to pay? say if the client owes me 2K, will E&O cover it?
Liability insurance does not cover money owed to you.

You really should have a lawyer look at this contract. It seems a little one-sided to me.

According to this contract, you may be responsible to indemnify the client if you fail to do something.