• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

who pays the lawyer?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

motherof

What is the name of your state? Louisiana
I am a General Contractor. I would like to know if my General Libility Ins. is responsible for paying a lawyer to represent me if a homeowner should file suit against me ?

Betty

What is the name of your state? Louisiana
I am a General Contractor. I would like to know if my General Libility Ins. is responsible for paying a lawyer to represent me if a homeowner should file suit against me ?
Under a contractor general liability ins. pol. the insurer is obligated to pay legal costs of a covered liability claim or lawsuit. You would need to check your pol. or with your agt. for the liability claims covered under your contract (policy). Usually covered are claims re bodily injury, property damage, personal injury & advertising injury (damage from slander or false advertising).

motherof