• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Employer claims stealing

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

RogerS

What is the name of your state? MO

I am a web designer who took a job without a contract. The client sent $500 after 2 weeks of work to "reinforce the relationship" as a down payment for the completed site. Two weeks later he asked for all the FTP logon information (the passwords to gain access to editing), claiming he wanted to make small changes himself. He told me to continue working, so I did. As I near completion, he tells me he does not need my services anymore due to the fact that he found someone else to do the job for less. I immediately took all of my work off the site. HE CLAIMS THE SITE BELONGS TO HIM AND THAT I AM STEALING, IS THIS CORRECT?

divgradcurl

RogerS said:
What is the name of your state? MO

I am a web designer who took a job without a contract. The client sent $500 after 2 weeks of work to "reinforce the relationship" as a down payment for the completed site. Two weeks later he asked for all the FTP logon information (the passwords to gain access to editing), claiming he wanted to make small changes himself. He told me to continue working, so I did. As I near completion, he tells me he does not need my services anymore due to the fact that he found someone else to do the job for less. I immediately took all of my work off the site. HE CLAIMS THE SITE BELONGS TO HIM AND THAT I AM STEALING, IS THIS CORRECT?