• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Annexing common area to expand a condo

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Lance M

Minnesota

I am a resident of the state of MN.

My condo is located adjacent to an empty storage area and this area is defined as a common use area. The association has agreed to sell me this storage area to expand my condo.

1.) Do I need to change anything regarding my deed (county registrar) as my condo has changed to reflect the change in my property? The dimensions of the unit will be changing and I want to avoid any hassles in the future.
2.) I will be obtaining the proper permits and having inspections, etc. Is there anything else I need to do make sure that this newly acquired space is my property and is an extension of my current property? Currently this space is not taxed by the city nor does it have a unique property ID.

Thank you in advance for any help you can provide.

Lance

festival

You and the association will need a real estate lawyer, preferably one with experience in condominiums.

The association will need to give you a deed to this area, with precisely defined boundaries, and a description/drawing by a licensed architect, licensed engineer, or licensed surveyor. The description can be similar to the description of one of your condominium units in the Declaration. Include as much detail as possible, such as who owns the door (inside and out), wallboard, studs, flooring, sub floor, paint, etc. Consider who will maintain and repair what parts of the room in case of damage such as fire – that may be used to determine the exact description of what you will own. In some condominiums, you only own the paint and the space.